Lunch: Summer Chicken salad

IMG_0778

I have recently got back from a long shift, and hopped on my bike for the first time in ages, as had it stored at work, the intensity of trying to get up a hill and failing miserably has made me realise  just how unfit I am, so this is the start of trying to get a little fitter, which hopefully should raise my energy levels in the long run.

IMG_0780

I got home starving so had to cook something straight away. This salad I have cooked quite a few times lately as have become a little a addicted to it and it’s so easy to make. Once I cook something that works, I tend to shuffle it down my throat until dooms day, which is probably not a very good way to go about things, but at the moment my diet is so limited I just stick to recipes that I can tolerate and work. For the chicken salad I used sweet potatoes instead of normal potatoes and used lots of fresh herbs to give it lots of flavour.

IMG_0779

Ingredients 

  • 1 organic chicken breast roughly diced
  • 1 white onion sliced finely
  • spring of thyme
  • 2 sweet potatoes roughly chopped (skin still on)
  • 3 spring onions finely chopped
  • 1/4 cucumber finely chopped
  • 1 celery finely chopped
  • 1 sweet apple finely chopped
  • handful of chives finely chopped
  • handful of coriander finely chopped
  • organic olive oil
  • coconut oil (odourless)
  • rock salt

Method

Put the sweet potatoes in a pan and boil for around 20 minutes, or until soft, then drain and put into a bowl. In the mean time heat up the coconut oil in a stainless steel frying pan, then add in the onion, thyme, salt and chicken breast pieces, cook for around 25 minutes until cooked through, then mix it all in with the sweet potato, also adding the coriander, chives, cucumber, spring onions, apples, olive oil and a little more rock salt and mix it all through, then it’s ready to munch.

 

Author: histaminehealingblog

Cooks low histamine recipes with Mast cell stabilising and histamine lowering fresh herbs and foods, gluten free, grain free, dairy free, sugar free, paleo

Leave a Reply

