Anti- histamine foods that Fight Inflammation and stabilise mast-cells

Part of my healing process is including herbs and other foods daily that help fight inflammation and stabilise my mast cells naturally, they have been a big part in making me feel better and calming down my pecan savage reactions. I have created a list below of foods that I use to help me feel better. I shall add this to the “useful info” page, which is at the top of my site.

 

Foods

Onions

Onions (including spring onions) are nice and nutritious and also a prebiotic, they are high in quercetin and have been shown to inhibit histamine release and stabilise mast cells.

Garlic

Like onions, garlic is very nutritious, a prebiotic and also high in anti-oxidants. Garlic has been shown to inhibit histamine release from mast cells.

Watercress

Watercress is considered one of the most nutrient dense plants commonly available; it is a cruciferous vegetable that has a peppery tangy taste. A study showed that watercress inhibits 60% of all histamines released from mast cells.

Sweet potato

Sweet potato is high in histamine lowering rutin and quercetin. Also possesses significant anti-inflammatory and anti-ulcerogenic action.

Fennel

Fennel is anti-inflammatory, antihistamine, analgesic and anti-oxidant.

Kale

Kale is highly anti-inflammatory and has cancer prevention potential.

Courgette (Zucchini)

Courgette is anti-inflammatory, anti-ulcerogenic and inhibits potential antihistaminic activity.

Butternut squash

Butternut squash suppresses IgE antibody production. Also possesses anti ulcer, anti-inflammatory and antidepressant action.

Beetroot

Beetroot reduces histamine induced inflammation and help clear up arthritic inflammation. It acts as an antihistamine/H1 receptor antagonist.

Herbs

Thyme

Thyme is a nutrient dense herb. It has high levels of vitamin c, combined with flavonoids that stabilise mast cells. It also has anti microbial benefits. I use thyme in most meals that I cook as it really helps me feel better.

Tarragon

Tarragon has a nice anise flavour. It is one of the highest anti-oxidant food sources amongst herbs. A study shows that it stabilises mast cells.

Peppermint

The flavonoids in peppermint have been found to have a potent inhibitory effect on histamine from mast cells. It is also effective for allergic rhinitis.

Parsley

Parsley repairs damage to the mucosal lining of the stomach and prevent histamine release. It’s also anti-inflammatory and can repair liver damage.

Basil

Basil is a potent anti-inflammatory herb.

Coriander

Coriander is a mast cell stabiliser and natural painkiller.

Oregano 

Oregano inhibits histamine release and has anti-inflammatory properties.

Ginger

Ginger is able to inhibit allergic reactions. It has traditionally been used as a H2 inhibitor but a study showed that it also acts a mast cell stabiliser

Turmeric

Turmeric has powerful anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant properties. A study found that it inhibited mast cell activation.

Saffron

Saffron is a H1 receptor antagonist and is also anti-inflammatory.

 

Fruits

Apples

Apples are rich in histamine lowering quercetin and inhibit the development of allergies.

Pomegranate

Pomegranates have a sweet but tart taste and are used in both savory and sweet foods. They are high in anti-oxidants and a study showed that they act as mast cell stabilisers.

Author: histaminehealingblog

Cooks low histamine recipes with Mast cell stabilising and histamine lowering fresh herbs and foods, gluten free, grain free, dairy free, sugar free, paleo

7 thoughts on “Anti- histamine foods that Fight Inflammation and stabilise mast-cells”

  1. This is great, do you eat these foods daily? Do you find they don’t trigger symptoms?

    I’ve been itching for seven months. Doctors say it’s an allergic reaction and prescribed antihistamines and steroid creams for my skin, but it doesn’t take the itching away.

    Heat makes it worse.

    I’m thinking it’s diet related, but they don’t seem to be interested in figuring out what it is exactly so I can avoid it. And I have been trying to stay low histamine. Thing is that some things on this lost of yours appear as scoring 1 on the histamine list I had, so I’ve been avoiding them! But you have them listed as antihistamines. I’m so confused…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi thanks for stopping by, I try to include a handful of the list daily. At the moment I am mainly eating a lot of onions garlic, kale, sweet potatoes, thyme, rosemary, basil, coriander and apples and I do seem to be fine with them. Ginger, turmeric and saffron, although are mean’t to be tolerated and low, can be a problem, and especially at the beginning of the low histamine diet, so I only have them occasionally. Sometimes while you are healing your symptoms can get worse, but this shouldn’t last too long.

      Sorry to hear about the itching, sounds awful. Normal anti histamines I have found can often make symptoms worse in the long run, but taking some natural herbs like thyme (fresh) should hopefully help.

      The low histamine diet is very confusing as all lists seem to be different, but on my list they appear to be low, but maybe try some of them and see how you respond, also just by going on a low histamine diet and lowering the bucket , you this should hopefully greatly help, even if you are eating one thing that might be slightly higher. I hope this helps 🙂

      Like

      1. I think I’m definitely lowering the bucket, the itching is calming down a lot, though, a week ago I obviously overflowed again because it was terrible for two days. This week has been better. I’d just like to have answers and know for sure what’s causing this and how to manage it effectively. My doctors so far have not been helpful or interested in looking into it. Thanks for all your help!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Its really hard to manage something when you don’t know the cause, I was there for 10 years and it was very frustrating as there was nothing I could do but guess and try different things, I felt very alone. Unfortunately doctors like to follow the dotted line, and when something is unusual that they don’t understand it they send you packing and suggest counselling, or give antihistamines, which will make you more sick in the long run. Mast cell’s haven’t been heard of by most doctors and it’s newly recognised syndrome and quite unusual, so bringing a list of doctors will do the trick. That ok I really hope you get there, and feel free to message if you have anymore questions or need help with anything.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just read your about page and sorry to hear that you have chronic fatigue and ME as well, I understand how hard it is to have no energy as I feel extremely fatigued too. But there is an amazing treatment out there called the Lightning technique that I am doing in October for my mast cell condition, but it can be for any illness and is particularly effective for ME. I know quite a few people who have done it and it changed their life, including my sister, and they are suddenly able to do things they could never do before. I will report back on my blog how it went, but thought it might interest and help you.

    here’s the link : https://lightningprocess.com/

    Like

  3. I stumbled across your blog post while searching for allergies rhinitis. So sorry to hear about your medical condition and I totally identify with the negative impact it has on your life – I have been going through the same for 20+ years now.

    Thanks for sharing all the anti-histamine foods. I am a vegetarian and I already eat a lot of the above items. I agree that it is not an exact science and its all about “managing” this condition. For you its the mast cells. But for me despite all care, my sneezing spells can just suddenly trigger any time.

    I don’t necessarily have only a seasonal problem. It’s more about hypersensitivity in my nose that causes sneezing spells from any of the various allergy triggers/causes. And then due to incessant sneezing, it irritates my internal nasal skin till its sore (rhinitis).

    Over the years, with self-observation, I have figured out those allergies root causes and try to “manage” them as best as I can and my condition has improved. But how I wish that there was a permanent solution to my allergies rhinitis problem.

    Please do visit my blog http://allergiesrhinitis.wordpress.com where I have listed my allergies rhinitis related problems, causes and solutions learned. Please add comments / notes there if, after reading my notes, you think of some solutions or want to share any insights that may help (not life long medicines). Looking forward to help and collaboration.

    Continue to find strength to keep doing what you do – despite the allergies rhinitis!

    Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi thanks for stopping by and your kind comments. I just had a read of your blog and for some reason i wasn’t able to comment on there, so I thought i’d reply on here. So sorry to hear what you have been through with your frequent sneezing, sore throat, and hypersensitivity in the nose, sounds very frustrating and hard to manage. I do have a few suggestion that I think may help and that I have tried myself.

      The first one is using a Neti pot, which helps to flush out the allergies and help heal the irritation, here is a link to more info: https://draxe.com/neti-pot/

      Another suggestion is having bioresonance testing and treatment, it is a very effective treatment for allergies, and the testing is around 95% accurate. I had it for various things and it really helped. Here is a link to more info on it : http://www.mcqueenclinic.com/about-us.html

      Another suggestion that may help is to just try rubbing some organic odourless coconut oil in the nose to help soothe it, it may help calm it down.

      Here’s a link to some home remedies I have come across to help with sneezing: http://www.top10homeremedies.com/home-remedies/home-remedies-for-sneezing.html

      I hope this all helps, and you continue you get better 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

