Lunch:Cherry and chicken sauce with rice pasta, gluten free

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I have decided to try cooking with some rice pasta with this meal and see what happens, as I have been craving grains for a while, and although they are low histamine, I usually avoid them as they often make my symptoms worse, but I thought i’d sneak them in and hope for the best.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I did’t feel too bad afterwards, but I now need to wait a while before having them again, otherwise I will be pushing my luck and end up like a blown up pumpkin spinning through space.

 

Ingredients

  • 2 red onions finely chopped
  • 1/4 carrot finely chopped
  • 1/4 courgette (zucchini) finely chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic put through a squeezer
  • large handful of cherries chopped
  • fresh thyme chopped
  • fresh basil chopped
  • 2 pieces of chicken (leg and thigh)
  • small chunk of ginger chopped
  • coconut oil (odourless)

Method

Turn the oven to gas mark 5, put the chicken in a dish with a bit of salt and coconut oil and cook for around an hour, 10 minutes into the cooking just pour the coconut oil over the chicken, this will help it to crisp up. In the mean time heat up some coconut oil in a pan, then add in the red onions, garlic, cherries, ginger, fresh herbs and a sprinkle of salt and fry for a few minutes until the flavours start to come through, then add in the rest of the veg and fry for a few more minutes, before adding a little water in and letting it simmer for around 45 minutes, at the end pour some of the meat juices in and then chop up the chicken and then mix it into the sauce and it’s ready to serve with the rice pasta, or whatever pasta you fancy and can tolerate.

Author: histaminehealingblog

Cooks low histamine recipes with Mast cell stabilising and histamine lowering fresh herbs and foods, gluten free, grain free, dairy free, sugar free, paleo

4 thoughts on “Lunch:Cherry and chicken sauce with rice pasta, gluten free”

  1. I know what you mean about putting some space between certain foods. I can have bread 2 or maybe 3 times a week. Any more than that I get tired and my legs are weak. Same thing with other foods.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny how it works with food and that you experience it too. Before I knew what I had I remember experimenting with a rotational diet, where I would only eat the same food every four days and this made a massive difference to how I felt and also the inflammation.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know it really is, all the doctors want to do is pump you with as many drugs as possible and send you on your way. I was told to go on four different medication, i only tried one of them and it gave me a massive relapse that I struggled to recover from, so now I stay clear of all meds and just concentrate on my diet and as well as taking a few herbal supplements.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

