Lunch: Mild chicken curry with wraps and cauliflower rice

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Now and again I do like a good curry with subtle sparks flying around, but with a mast cell condition and histamine problem, most spices seem to upset my system and raise my histamine levels enough to cause me to blow up like a overgrown pomegranate and fatigued like a drenched parrot, so often I stay away.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I decided to create a very simple curry and include just a few spices that are mean’t to be low in histamine and tolerated by most, so I thought i’d give it a try, but it’s a hit and miss with me and everyone is different when it comes to tolerance, some people can eat more spices and be fine and others cannot tolerate any.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients – curry

  • 2 chicken breasts chopped into chunks
  • 1 red onion finely chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic put through a squeezer
  • 5 chopped baby sweetcorn’s
  • half a courgette (zucchini) roughly chopped
  • 2 medium thick rings of butternut squash chopped
  • half a carrot finely chopped
  • 2 turmeric chopped very finely
  •  pinch of saffron
  • small chunk of ginger
  • handful of coriander
  • coconut oil
  • pinch of rock salt

Method

Heat up the coconut oil (I have haven’t used odourless oil this time as coconut is nice with spices and seems to compliment it well) add in the chicken pieces and brown all the sides for about 5 minutes, then add in the garlic, onions, turmeric and saffron, ginger and salt and fry for a few more minutes, until the nice smells seem to come through, then add in the rest of the veg and coriander and fry for a few more minutes, before adding in some water and letting it slowly simmer for about 45 minutes, then it’s ready to serve.

Ingredients – cauliflower rice

  • Half a cauliflower put in a food processor  until it looks like rice
  • 3 spring onions finely chopped
  • fresh coriander
  • pomegranate seeds
  • Himalayan salt
  • coconut oil (odourless)

Method

Heat up the coconut oil then add in the spring onions and fry for a few minutes, then add in the cauliflower rice, coriander, salt  and pomegranate seeds and fry until the rice becomes soft, should be about 10 -15 minutes, then it’s ready to serve.

Ingredients – wraps

  • 5 Large parsnips peeled and chopped
  • 3 duck eggs
  • salt
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • half a tablespoon of coconut oil

Method

Boil the parsnips until soft, then add to a blender with the eggs, salt, water and coconut oil and blend for about a minute until smooth. Then get a tray out and lay some grease proof paper over it, then pour the mixture over it and spread it out over the paper evenly until it looks like a wet flat pizza base. Cook on gas mark 5 for around 30 mins, or until cooked through and golden brown, then take out and wait for it to cool, then slice into around 4 pieces for the wrap, then gently scoop off with a spatular, fill with the chicken curry, rice and cucumber and cress and it’s ready to munch.

Author: histaminehealingblog

Cooks low histamine recipes with Mast cell stabilising and histamine lowering fresh herbs and foods, gluten free, grain free, dairy free, sugar free, paleo

2 thoughts on “Lunch: Mild chicken curry with wraps and cauliflower rice”

  1. Spices of any kind make my fibromyalgia flare. I get pain in my shoulders, neck or feet. I have to eat a very bland diet. Even too much salt can bother my body. It is a pain in the neck, but I feel so grateful towards the natureopath who told me it might be food that was making me sick.

    She was right, and two years ago my sister found out about histamines in food, so that has helped me too. Rice cakes are a big help to me. I put different stuff on them. I hate cooking, and it is too hard to stand in the kitchen for long periods of time, so I have a close relationship with rice cakes. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am sorry to hear that you get so sick from food and have pain too, it sounds really hard to have to deal with, and I completely understand about the spice as it usually triggers me too, and I was still a little sensitive even from this meal which was all low histamine. Thats great that you found the natureopath who helped you. It seems food can be a problem for so many people with health problems. Oh rice cakes are yummy so you are sorted and cooking is definitely a pain, especially when you are not feeling well. I will have to come up with more quick 20 minutes meals, and I also think I will have to introduce grains back in soon just to experience a rice cake again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

